DepED Tacurong


The place which later became a city was once a barangay of the Municipality of Buluan of the Empire Province of Cotabato.   This was originally called “Pamansang” – after a creek that flows from south to north of the area which was later changed to “Talakudong”, a Maguindanao term which means head covering worn by early settlers.   Eventually, the name was changed/shortened to Tacurong.

On August 16, 2000, Republic Act 8805 was signed into law by his Excellency President Joseph E. Estrada. The law converted the Municipality of Tacurong into a component city of the Province of Sultan Kudarat to be known as the City of Tacurong. The law among others provides for the establishment and maintenance of the schools division of the City of Tacurong which area covers all schools within the city.

City Schools Division of Tacurong started as interim division. It started to operate officially on January 8, 2004 in the recognition of Dr. Raphael C. Fontanila’s designation as Officer-in-Charge of the Division by the DepEd Undersecretary Ramon C. Bacani.

Presently, CSDT is the smallest among the nine (9) divisions in Region XII. It is managed by SDS Gildo G. Mosqueda, CEO VI and being assisted by ASDS Leo R. Huliganga. It has nine (9) newly appointed Education Supervisors I and three (3) Coordinators. The five (5) districts in the elementary are supervised by four (4) Districts In-charge and one (1) District Supervisor. The five (5) secondary schools are headed by full-fledged Principals.